After an extensive deliberation process and a formal survey of all Program Directors, APDEM Council unanimously voted to implement an All In Match policy in 2018. Thus, the All In Policy was formally implemented with the NRMP in early 2018, and the policy was implemented for the 2018 recruitment season (i.e., for appointments in academic year 2019-2020).  This policy remains in effect for the 2021 recruitment season  (for appointments in academic year 2022-2023).

According to APDEM’s policy, all programs are required to register and attempt to fill all positions in the NRMP Match, unless an exception is granted.

APDEM Council continues to believe that, overall, the All In Match policy will serve the interests of candidates and Programs better than the previous policy. In particular, APDEM Council believes that, compared to available alternatives, an All In Match policy will (a) maximize applicant autonomy and maximize each applicant’s ability to evaluate programs without undue pressure; (b) maximize the overall success of the Match (with more applicants achieving better Match outcomes vis-à-vis their individual preferences); (c) best safeguard the integrity of the overall system of endocrinology fellowship position allocation; (d) maximize procedural fairness among Programs competing for a common pool of applicants; and (e) minimize the risk that APDEM would breach its annual contract with NRMP.

Important documents:
• APDEM’s All In Match policy for 2022 recruitment season
APDEM All In Match FAQs
Materials distributed to Program Directors prior to the formal survey regarding an All In Match (this 17-page document includes an introduction to the official registration of program director preferences; the structure of a proposed All In Match policy for endocrinology; APDEM All In Match Working Group’s Summary of Deliberations; an Argument in Favor of an All In Match Policy; and Argument against an All In Match Policy; APDEM Council’s Executive Summary regarding an All In Match; and Potential questions and answers related to an All In Match Policy).

Please email with any questions you have in regards to this policy.

All In Match Oversight Task Force (2021 season)
Matthew Levine, MD (Co-Chair)
Aaron Schulman, MD (Co-Chair)
Matthew Gilbert, MD
Ismat Shafiq, MD
Amal Rahhal Shibli, MD
Andrew Gianoukakis, MD (ex-officio, non-voting)